Author Topic: Need Ideas To Help Another Using OS 10 w/Safari  (Read 832 times)

Offline sandybeach

• Bronze Member
Need Ideas To Help Another Using OS 10 w/Safari
« on: December 01, 2011, 02:52:29 am »
This will be rather long so may make for good winter reading  :LOL !

I have temporarily taken over MOD & ADMIN duties of a phpBB board after
the elderly, widowed lady who usually does it came down w/ an infected machine. The board is under SPAM assault BUT that's another story/post!

I thought she used WIN PC so I offered to help clean up her machine knowing most needed items/links etc.

Sadly, I have no experience w/ Macs AT ALL so am way out of my depth but, as is my nature, I still want to help!

I think I need to supply some links to free (if possible) real time A/V (preferably w/out "cloud" requirement as I still have more than a few concerns
about this bandwagon especially after cloud hosted malwares/ ZA etc.).

Additionally similar links for on demand scanners/removers & possibly free firewall suitable for Macs.

Thankfully, she's on cable w/ no wireless anything which must help.

From her E-Mail:

"What happened to my computer? It is very, very slow and sometimes refuses
to do what I ask, until I hound it for awhile. And my mouse is acting very
strangely ( that may well be just a mouse problem ). Again I know nothing
about computer stuff anymore, but I have wondered if I have the stuff you
use malware, or adware or whatever it is called. Sorry to sound so very
stupid!

I use a cable hook up. Nothing wireless. I have OS 10.6.8, use Safari as
my Browser."

Further:
"In answer to your computer security questions. I use nothing. I don't use
my firewall and haven't used any antivirus in years ( got tired of paying
for it ). :D1  I am paranoid about downloading any free stuff, mostly due to my
lack of knowledge, rather than paranoia."

I need suggestions on how to instruct her to clean/repair any damage & then to protect her going forward. :sd