Author Topic: No Signal  (Read 3033 times)

Offline Dodgedakota

• Bronze Member
No Signal
« on: April 26, 2009, 04:25:36 pm »
My son plays online games and some of the games ,not all, during the game especially at some grphic intensive point , the moniter shuts down and a no signal error message pops up.  A couple of the games it happens at the exact same point everytime.  one other that he has been playing awhile happens at various points.  You can still hear the game running for a few seconds but then I have to reboot to get the computer to do anything.
  I am running a Dell Dimension 4500, Windows XP, Nvidia ge force 4 Driver version 4.5.2.3 ti 4200 File Version 6.14.10.4523.  I tried updating the graphic driver online but no luck.  Any help would be great,  Thanks   

Offline Taz71498

• Microsoft® MVP
  • Malware Removal Staff
  • Gold Member
Re: No Signal
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2009, 04:12:06 pm »
I am no expert at this and I am sure one of our other hardware experts will pop in but...let's try to get more information for them.  Can you give us the exact Video Card you have?  We see it is a Nvidia ge force but ...6200??  Who installed the video card or did it come already installed?  If it was recently installed, did the games start having this problem immediatly after the install?  Does the problem only happen when playing the games or does it happen when you are doing other things on the computer?

Also, what games are being played that are having the problems?

Offline williamkidd

• Bronze Member
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2009, 10:45:13 pm »
Hi Dodgedakota,

It's possible that you are running the monitor at too high a resolution for it to handle graphically intense programs/situations.

Here are some things to try: