Author Topic: ASUS LifeFrame Opened by Itself  (Read 152 times)

Offline mooseboy018

• Bronze Member
ASUS LifeFrame Opened by Itself
« on: August 18, 2014, 07:20:23 pm »
There's a pre-installed program that came on my laptop called ASUS LifeFrame, and I've never used it before over the last year that I've had the laptop. While I was browsing the internet, it randomly opened up and told me it couldn't find my webcam. I disabled my laptop's build in webcam a long time ago, so that part's not the issue. I'm just concerned that a program that I've never used randomly opened up on its own and tried to access my webcam.

Nothing suspicious has shown up on my virus scans, but I'm still a bit nervous... I even taped over my webcam just in case.

Offline Hoov

• Malware Removal Mentors
  • Global Moderator
  • Diamond Member
  • Unwilling part owner of Gov't. Motors and Chrysler
    • Hoov's Personal Site
Re: ASUS LifeFrame Opened by Itself
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2014, 07:29:19 pm »
It appears that LifeFrame has to do with the webcam. So for it to open, I would assume some program called for the webcam. Did you have any IM client open, or anything to do with video conferencing or chat? Do you have a remote desktop application installed?

Consumer Security

If I am helping you and you don't hear from me for 24Hrs, send me a PM Please!

Offline mooseboy018

• Bronze Member
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2014, 07:41:21 pm »
The only thing I had opened was Google Chrome, and the only IM chat related thing I had opened was Facebook. I wasn't using the chat feature at the time, and I don't think I even had the tab opened. I didn't see any sort of notification related to a webcam chat either (in Facebook itself).

Would Hamachi count as a remote desktop app?